The Recusant

An unofficial SSPX newsletter, fighting a guerilla war for the soul of Tradition!



Mosteiro da Santa Cruz
Nova Friburgo , RJ Brasil

29 January 2013
St. Francis de Sales

Following the example and teachings of Archbishop Marcel Lefebvre as well as of Bishop Antonio de Castro Mayer:

We hold fast, with all our heart and with all our soul, to Catholic Rome, Guardian of the Catholic faith and of the traditions necessary to preserve this faith, to Eternal Rome, Mistress of wisdom and truth. We refuse, on the other hand, and have always refused to follow the Rome of neo-Modernist and neo-Protestant tendencies which were clearly evident in the Second Vatican Council and, after the Council, in all the reforms which issued from it. (Archbishop Lefebvre Declaration November 21, 1974)

These words of Archbishop Lefebvre define our attitude towards the Conciliar Church that beatified Pope John Paul II and declares that Pope Paul VI practiced heroic virtue. This Conciliar Church that renewed the scandal of Assisi and reaffirms the teachings of Vatican II is wanting to insert them into the Tradition of the Church, disregarding the teachings, definitions, and condemnations of all the Popes before the Second Vatican Council. For this reason we make our own the demands made by Archbishop Lefebvre that would verify and constitute the return of Rome to Tradition:

We do not have the same outlook on a reconciliation. Cardinal Ratzinger sees it as reducing us, bringing us back to Vatican II. We see it as a return of Rome to Tradition. We don’t agree; it is a dialogue of death. I can’t speak much of the future, mine is behind me, but if I live a little while, supposing that Rome calls for a renewed dialogue, then, I will put conditions. I shall not accept being in the position where I was put during the dialogue. No more. I will place the discussion at the doctrinal level: Do you agree with the great encyclicals of all the popes who preceded you? Do you agree with Quanta Cura of Pius IX, Immortale Dei and Libertas of Leo XIII, Pascendi Gregis of Pius X, Quas Primas of Pius XI, Humani Generis of Pius XII? Are you in full communion with these Popes and their teachings? Do you still accept the entire Anti-Modernist Oath? Are you in favor of the social reign of Our Lord Jesus Christ?
If you do not accept the doctrine of your predecessors, it is useless to talk! As long as you do not accept the correction of the Council, in consideration of the doctrine of these Popes, your predecessors, no dialogue is possible. It is useless. Th e positions will then be made more clear. (Mgr. Lefebvre, Fideliter, No. 66, November-December 1988, pp. 12-13).

Therefore, recalling the words of Archbishop Lefebvre, “without any spirit of rebellion, bitterness or resentment,” we intend to continue our work for the defense of Tradition using all the means that Providence allows, working for the salvation of souls, in forming candidates for the Priesthood, forming Religious, maintaining Catholic schools, helping Catholic families and working for the return of society to submit to the sweet yoke of Our Lord Jesus Christ, the King of all nations and the universe.

We appeal to all those who share the same ideal to unite with us, so that the movement going toward a disastrous submission to Modernist Rome may not prevail in the bosom of Tradition. This direction toward Modernist Rome has been clearly manifested in the letters, declarations, and other documents from the actual superiors of the Society of St. Pius X in recent months.

With the Grace of God and the help of the Virgin Mary, St. Joseph and St. Pius X, we determine to remain faithful to
the Roman Catholic Church and all the successors of St. Peter as well as Archbishop Lefebvre, in order to continue to be “faithful dispensors of the Mysteries of Our Lord Jesus Christ, in the Holy Ghost. Amen.” (I Cor. 4:1 et seq.)

(Present in Brazil)
Dom Tomas de Aquino, OSB (Brazil)
Dom Jahir Britto, FBVM (Brazil)
Fr. Ernesto Cardozo, FSSPX (Argentina)
Fr. Joseph Pfeiffer, FSSPX (USA)
Fr. David Hewko, FSSPX (USA)
Fr. Joaquim Daniel Maria de Sant’Ana, FBVM (Brazil)
Fr. Rene Trincado, FSSPX (Chile)

(in Absentia)
Bishop Richard Williamson, FSSPX (Great Britain)
Fr. Jean Michel Faure, FSSPX (France)
Fr Ronald Ringrose, (USA)
Fr. Richard Voigt, SDB (USA)
Fr. Juan Carlos Ortiz, FSSPX (Columbia)
Fr. Brendan Dardis, (USA)
Fr. Arturo Vargas, FSSPX (Mexico)
Fr. Dominic Mary of the Pillar, OP (USA)